Her body used to work perfectly. For years, she tallied her orgasms, maintained a Top Humps list, and rated men on whether they excited her more mentally or physically—all with the purpose of finding the ideal love match. 

Now, as she moves into her thirties and is settled down with Serious Boyfriend Number Three, she’s run into a problem. 

Sex hurts.

She can’t get wet.

Her vagina, which has never led her astray before, suddenly seems like it might be broken.

Surely there must be some way to make sex work for her again? 

From doctors to drugs to completely unorthodox remedies, she embarks on a journey of desperation and self-discovery. She’ll try anything to fix it, but maybe desire and long-term love just don’t go together.

First Line: By my mid-twenties, I thought I had my fanny and its workings all figured out.

When I picked up I’m F*cking Amazing, I thought I was in for a lighthearted and hilarious story of the sexual escapades of a woman in her late twenties to early thirties. And while I did get something hilarious, I also got something with much more depth than I expected.

The book reads very much like a memoir, or actually, it felt very much like an extremely long text from my best friend in the world. The one I used to have, anyway. We told each other everything and we were brutally honest about it all. That’s what reading this book felt like. I was being trusted with some deep, dark secrets that no one, not even the narrator’s other best friends knew.

While there were some exciting (and humorous!) sexcapades, the bulk of the story was about how the unnamed narrator dealt with her complex emotions surrounding her incredibly toxic relationships with two separate men and how she struggles with repeating patterns in her relationships and making the changes and progress she desperately hopes for. It’s a realistic portrayal of real life, where personal growth can be a messy, non-linear process. With a hilariously unhinged, vulnerable, and yes, deeply flawed, narrator, Anoushka Warden shows us that it’s okay to acknowledge that.

Rating: 4 out of 5.



2 responses to “I’m F*cking Amazing by Anoushka Warden”

  1. phonepiecentral Avatar
    phonepiecentral

    The tuna 😂

    1. Libro Vermo Avatar

      haha it was too perfect, especially since it was sweet and spicy lmao

Leave a Reply